For All

12592515_944903588911467_2976552438532226505_n

You know, I’ve never been particularly secretive about my distaste for organized religion. Or maybe I have and I just offended a bunch of people. If I’ve offended you, please feel free to berate be in the comment section.

But really, I don’t want to offend anyone. It’s just that we’re so easily P.Oed these days that I can’t even listen to my favorite band in the car without someone next to me a a stop-light yelling -really yelling- at me to “turn off that fucking devil-worshipping trash.”

No, really. That happened the other day on my way home from work. It was one of the most surreal moments I think I’ve ever experienced. I honestly didn’t think people thought that was anymore. I mean: yes, maybe my music is a little loud; and yes, maybe it’s Marilyn Manson and the point is shock and awe… but for someone to call it devil-worshipping trash and to swear at me in public that way? It shocks and awes me.

Anywho, I’ll just leave you with the advice that I once attempted to impart on an uber-religious friend’s mother in the last year of high school: I respect that you have religious beliefs, so please respect that I don’t.

Best wishes,

-M

For All

Leave a Reply

